Dynamic Response of the Environments at Asteroids, the Moon, and moons of Mars

Picture of Lora Bleacher

Lora Bleacher

1. What is your role on the DREAM2 team?

I'm the education lead for the team. I connect DREAM2 scientists with opportunities to share their science with educators, students and the public.

2. What about DREAM2 do you find most interesting? Most challenging?

Learning about the interaction between the Moon and the Sun is the most interesting thing to me. Most people think of the Moon as this boring, dead place when actually there are lots of interesting processes in action on and above its surface. The most challenging thing about DREAM2 for me is keeping up with all of the amazing work done by the science team!

3. Were you a part of the original DREAM team, funded through the NASA Lunar Science Institute? If so, what was your favorite science result?

Yes, I was the education lead for the original team, also. My favorite science result related to human exploration of the Moon. DREAM.s scientists found that human systems are grounded not to the lunar surface but to the conducting solar wind plasma around them. This has implications for future human exploration of the Moon in polar craters or on the lunar nightside. DREAM2 will investigate how human explorers at Near Earth Asteroids or the moon of Mars may be similarly affected.

4. What other NASA programs or missions have you participated in?

I've also worked on the education teams for the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter and MAVEN missions and the SAM instrument suite on the Mars rover Curiosity.

5. What kind/level of education do you have?

I have graduate degrees in both geology and museum studies.

6. What advice do you have for students who want to work for NASA or on NASA-related research?

Don't be afraid to ask questions. Don't be intimidated by people that are more experienced than you. There was a time when they were inexperienced too!

7. What are your favorite things to do outside of work?

Exercising, hiking, reading, cooking, and most of all hanging out with my family, especially my husband and two children.